Lift of the Magi by James Penha

Art credit - James Penha

Art credit – James Penha

A native New Yorker, James Penha has lived for the past quarter-century in Indonesia. He has been nominated for Pushcart Prizes in fiction and in poetry. Snakes and Angels, a collection of his adaptations of classic Indonesian folk tales, won the 2009 Cervena Barva Press fiction chapbook contest; No Bones to Carry, a volume of his poetry, earned the 2007 New Sins Press Editors’ Choice Award. Penha edits TheNewVerse.News , an online journal of current-events poetry. @JamesPenha

The author.

The author.

unnamedunnamed (1)451

3 thoughts on “Lift of the Magi by James Penha

  1. I was recently burgled.
    It was in my “other house”
    I used the house as a storeroom, warehouse and it was rackstacked with all sorts of memorabilia, miscellanea, things I failed to throw away, a confusion of history and interest.
    They must have been incredible baffled to step into the jumbled world of my other house mind.
    I can only imagine what they took. I think they made off with a Silk Set Jacket from the TV show Remington Steel and a pair of old rusty ice skates and maybe an early TV set.
    They left many valuables like a Picasso and an 1800’s reverse painted hanging mirror.
    I can only imagine their confusion.
    A fingerprint was found on a piece of Swedish glass they left behind. Someday when they chose some other dwelling and leave another fingerprint they will be captured.
    Somewhere in an order police world, their fingerprints are on file.
    ….
    I so totally understand. I feel your pain. I hear your suppressed giggle.

Let us know how you feel. Leave a comment.

