Sampling Oysters by Joan Leotta

Art credit - Elizabeth Stark

Art credit – Elizabeth Stark

Joan Leotta has been playing with words through writing and performing since childhood. Her “motto” is “encouraging words through pen and performance.” Her award-winning poetry, short stories, books and articles have appeared in many journals, magazines and newspapers. Joan recently completed a month as one of Tupleo Press’ 30/30 poets. She has work forthcoming in Knox Literary Magazine, and Eastern Iowa Review. She performs folklore and one-woman shows on historic figures. Joan lives in Calabash, NC with husband Joe. You can learn more about her work and reach her through http://www.joanleotta.wordpress.com or like her on Facebook.

joan3Joan Leotta

16 thoughts on “Sampling Oysters by Joan Leotta

  1. A wonderful piece, Joan.

    Those moments really are to be treasured, aren’t they. Yesterday afternoon my daughter and I set off on a jaunt together to visit an art exhibition in Belfast and we didn’t get back until late – and on a school night! 🙂

    Very special.

    marion

    • Marion, you are so right, each moment we spend with them is very special. On Saturday I leave to spend two weeks in Turkey with Jennie. My husband does not like to travel very much so he is skipping this trip and it will be just the two of us

  2. Awesome imagery. And the sentiment at the end reached out and grabbed me- I can see my daughter and me. I can feel that found pearl.

    • So glad it reached you—thank you for sharing that with me–it was my hope that others would see themselves and their daughters and cherish their love together thru the poem

  3. Pingback: Sampling Oysters by Joan Leotta | Joan Leotta

  4. Love the poem Joan. . .so sensual and yes, moments with our daughters so special. In my mind I also see the young mother and the quiet, shy Jenny taking her first step out into the world. Jenny’s smile was very special then too!

    • Sharon, so good yo heat from you! Yes, we are so blessed to have Jennie as our daughter was so blessed that you were her first grade teacher! Many hugs to you. Ps at this very moment, Jennie and I are on a mother daughter trip yo Turkey…in Istanbul!

    • Sharon, so good to hear from you! Yes, we are so blessed to have Jennie as our daughter was so blessed that you were her first grade teacher! Many hugs to you. Ps at this very moment, Jennie and I are on a mother daughter trip to Turkey…in Istanbul!

Let us know how you feel. Leave a comment.

