Poetry or Prose by Alexis Rhone Fancher

Collage Poem by Alexis Rhone Fancher

Collage Poem by Alexis Rhone Fancher

Alexis Rhone Fancher is the author of “How I Lost My Virginity To Michael Cohen and Other Heart Stab Poems,” (Sybaritic Press, 2014). She is widely published, most notably in Rattle, The MacGuffin, Slipstream, H_NGM_N, Fjords Review, Good Men Project, This Is Poetry: Women of the Small Presses, Serving House Poetry Journal, rawboned, Broadzine!, Bloom Literary Journal, and elsewhere. Her photographs have been published worldwide, including the covers of Witness and The Mas Tequila Review. She is poetry editor of Cultural Weekly. Since 2013 Alexis has been nominated for three Pushcart Prizes and a Best of The Net award. She and her husband live and collaborate in an 8th floor loft/studio in downtown Los Angeles. They have a spectacular view.

www.alexisrhonefancher.com

Regarding Poetry or Prose, Alexis offers the following:

I clip words and phrases out of magazines. Hoard type faces that intrigue me. Save bits of ephemera that call to me from the page. I can’t let them die quite yet. I want to give magazine art a second chance. Resuscitate whimsy, repurpose graphics and words like hip hop samples. A smidgeon of Lydia Davis, a dash of Amy Winehouse, a soupçon of Rauschenberg, a whiff of Warhol, mix in a bit of my son’s watercolors, add my own bent perspective and voila!

“Poetry or Prose” was created entirely from old New Yorker magazines. I loved the phrase “DECIDE NOW. IS YOUR LIFE GOING TO BE POETRY OR PROSE?” and tore it out, filing it away for later. When I found the dogs I remembered the question and put the pieces together on a postcard. The purple and blue border brought everything together.

As a published poet, I am always fascinated when other artists reinterpret my words in their own medium. I’d like to think the New Yorker source contributors feel the same about my reinvention of their work.

~Alexis Rhone Fancher 2014

virginity picon

Let us know how you feel. Leave a comment.

