Late Night Thoughts as Sirens Wail by Stuart Welch

 

Art Credit - PP&P

Art Credit – PP&P

Stuart Welch had a difficult childhood, raised in a home that was filled with the legal drugged depression of a mother woman that had tasted the high life of the Grand Ole Opry and Hank Williams and a high-temperature physicist father that wanted to be a writer above all else and to set the vials and dials behind him. They both encouraged Stuart to be a writer when he was young, but from different positions, but for difference reasons, neither of which led him to today.

Hard as it was, he resurfaced 50 years after the urge first struck him and emerged a writer. He had spent over a year travelling through Europe, dragging a leather trench coat, a beret, and a Smith-Corona because he knew that he had a story to tell so many years ago. Then the hold button on life was pressed. During those 50 years, he finished college, raised three wonderful and different-spirited children, and kept a job and a home and a wife of 28 years. He has returned to work, teach, and ramble lost through Europe many times since the ’70s.

A few years back the air was knocked from him in the form of a killer stroke that wiped half his brain. He began to find the road back to the telling of stories. He felt a resurgence to tell his visions. His card is printed with:

Stuart Welch

Writer, Poet, Raconteur.

Anyone who spends any time around him knows that he talks too long, writes too much, and sees things in a different way than most around him do or can or will.

It is hard to tell a tale sometimes through his eyes, thoughts from his brain, and words from his fingers. What makes complete sense to him sometimes is even too abstract or disjointed for him. He words words to tell a story. He works the sounds, the pace, the images that he creates out of the words he carefully chose to tell his tale. He has completed a book that he hopes to let go of this year. He has completed two screenplays that he was asked to write, and he updates a fiction blog whenever he has a few words to share at http://urbans-blog.blogspot.com.

Sometimes poetry comes easily; sometimes it is hard to remember his wife’s name. He advises the reader to never forget their wife’s name. It does not lead to inspiration.

Welch pic 1Welch pic 2

6 thoughts on “Late Night Thoughts as Sirens Wail by Stuart Welch

    • Dear Editors:

      It is an odd situation.

      I experienced a severe cerebral stroke, a removal of a gall bladder and later a shut down of several organs and acute pancreatitis. Before the medical events, I was Dad, Software Trainer and somewhat a mundane world traveler.
      Following the medical situations, I completed a book, and the re-write, wrote poetry, published 4 short stories in 3 books in a variety of styles and have several projects I have put on hold until the completion of my wife’s surgical procedures. But before putting writing on hold, an Exec Producer and film Producer asked me to write a screenplay (never did that before. They sent me the Final Draft software for the project), created a second screenplay, and even published some poetry as above.
      I have some limitations. I must write when I am fresh. I wake early, sometimes 3-4 AM and I can write until noon, but I am a zombie after that.
      I love dissecting facebook and blog entries, I started a blog on SAP (the company I trained for for 20 years.
      It is puzzling.
      It doesn’t mean I am any good. My typos are horrible. When I write, I leave out gaps in what I am writing and mentally fill in the gaps the first time I read back what I have written. I mix up my their, there and they’re (I have a degree in English and even taught freshman English as part of my Master Program)
      I have flashes of ideas that almost flash to fast for me to capture and that is frustrating. They make so much sense to me until I write them down. Finally, I write reviews for a few other Hollywood EP’s for screenplays they are considering to pursue funding. Sometimes I wonder if I miss really large failures in the screenplay structures, while getting hung up in little details that an EP would never care about. He wants “good” “bad”, “re-write” etc and I give him 2000 words. My last review I said that the battle scenes were muddied and confusing while another reviewer said that there were too many new characters popping in and out leading to confusion.. I am pretty sure that is what I meant.
      I constantly mispell “because” and my grammar skills have deteriorated.
      I wrote a book that started out in the format of a parable and the last half of the book used dialogue. At the point of transition is when I had my stroke. I agreed with the reviewer and did some fixing.
      So that is what I remember.
      Write with any other questions!

    • Thank you. I truly appreciate that. So tell me that I should spend an hour explaining what I wrote that can be read in 5 minutes…I agree. I can be vague.

  1. Ah, New Orleans… I think you captured her beauty and insanity and dark treats quite well. Wonderful poem, Stuart, and a killer bio! So happy to see you here. 🙂

Let us know how you feel. Leave a comment.

