The Craftsman by Patricia Gomes

Art Credit - PP&P

Art Credit – PP&P

Abandoned as an infant, Patricia was discovered (and later adopted) by the star attractions of a passing circus sideshow.  Her adoptive parents, Quadzilla, the ‘Amazing Four-legged Ballerina,’ and Anvillium, the ‘Strongest Dwarf this side of Bulgaria’ opted to have Patricia’s bulbous red nose and third eye surgically removed, thereby assuring her a semi-normal childhood.

Patricia attended Cir Cuss U, where she excelled in Cotton Candy Manufacturing 101 and Advanced Cussing and revolutionized the tech industry with her patented Steam-a-Weenie Confabulator.  Dressing in only polka-dotted bowties, she currently pens poetry under the eaves in her cavernous attic accompanied by the strains of Elton John’s infamous Get Back, Honkey Cat.  Her personal motto: “Never take yourself seriously.”  Her closest friends and loyal readers lovingly refer to her as “twisted.”

Everything I write is trite;
scary how that goes.
To watch me write is quite a sight;
I do it without clothes.

www.patriciagomes.com

Patricia assures us they do allow her to explore her creative side while she prepares for her return to society.

Patricia assures us they do allow her to explore her creative side while she prepares for her return to society.

Patricia, just prior to the arrival of the authorities.

Patricia, just prior to the arrival of the authorities.

9 thoughts on “The Craftsman by Patricia Gomes

  1. Scary indeed. I was half hoping this turned out to be the bones of animals he’d hunted, but I’m glad you didn’t wimp out at the end. My wife is a big fan of gory crime series. I seem to remember an episode (CSI?) where they caught the serial killer because of a rib windchime. I like the imagery of the flies and the music of the unanswered screams, which probably makes me as twisted as you. My bro was a director of a circus school, but at 6’2″ he was the world’s tallest dwarf.

  2. Patricia, this is the first time I have read your work. The imagery is astounding. I felt for him. His planning and follow through to make this possible. I was upset that the bones didn’t make the “peaceful” sound he envisioned. I felt his relief when he discovered an alternate way to make the chimes and was able to sleep listening to their silent, unanswered screams. I love it! Thank you for sharing.

  3. I enjoyed this. You lulled me into satisfaction with his creative process and craftsmanship and I saw his art through his eyes. Masterfully done! But I’m a little worried about me, now.

Let us know how you feel. Leave a comment.

